The Palace Armoury is one of the world’s largest collections of arms and armour that is still housed in its original building. The Knights of St John themselves were a unique brotherhood of determined warrior monks. This Palace carries one of the most noticeable and tangible symbols of the glories of the past from Sovereign Hospitaller Military Order of Malta.
When the Order of St John were forced out of Malta, the armoury did lose much of its original grandeur, however is later was restored and and opened in 1860 as Malta’s first public museum. Today the Armoury still contacins an abundant amount of material of Italian, French, German, and Spanish origin, also on display is an exotic selection of Ottoman and Islaminc arms and armour. Apart from the massed arms of the common soldiers in the collection, the enriched personal armours of the nobility still manage to make a statement.